top of page


For us a Sacrament must be:

  1. Commanded by Christ Himself in the Scriptures

  2. Convey forgiveness of sins

  3. Employ a physical means.

Only Holy Baptism and Holy Communion meet all three of these conditions. Obviously rites like Marriage, Confession and Forgiveness, Confirmation, Ordination, and Anointing of the Sick are very important and sacred to us also.

We also believe that in the Sacraments, it is not we, but God Who is acting. Thus Baptism is a means by which God Himself marks us as belonging to Him forever. Holy Communion is a way in which God Himself gives His very Self to us. Being renewed through forgiveness of sins joins us to the very Body of Christ, and in Holy Communion He gives to us also His own presence within us. For any believer, this means our life and salvation in God's eternal Kingdom. We believe that Sacraments are not laws or ordinances -- not things we must do for no reason other than that they are commanded. Rather, these gifts of God Himself, treasures to be cherished, and means by which God binds us to Himself.

People of other denominations also wonder if they are welcome to the Lord’s Table at Prince of Peace. We believe that it is, after all, the Lord’s Table, not ours, and so we refuse no baptized believer who wants to come to the Lord - or rather to receive the gift of the Body and Blood of Christ in Holy Communion. If you come open to God's gifts, then by all means be baptized if you have never been, and please do come to the Lord's Supper! We do ask that communicants be baptized believers who know their need for forgiveness and live in the sure and certain hope of salvation through Christ. Even an atheist can understand that if God does indeed exist, then an unbeliever coming into the presence of God would be in an uncomfortable situation.


For more information, please speak with our pastor.



Return to the top of the page

Many people are curious about the Sacramental practices of the Lutheran Church.


The definition of Sacrament is different among Lutherans than it is among Roman Catholics, Episcopalians, Anglicans, Orthodox, and others whose services, beliefs, and practices might otherwise be very similar.


While we honor the seven sacraments of the Roman Catholic and Anglican/Episcopal traditions, we simply define them differently. 

bottom of page